1/11/11

11 Jan

Today seems a good day to launch a new blog. I realized it while strolling the aisles of the grocery store this morning in pursuit of clean food. I’d gathered a dozen eggs (for hard boiling), a gallon of 2% milk (for stronger little boy bones), two packages of turkey breakfast sausage (for a 10 year-old kid who needs more protein in his diet), a tub of calcium chewy things (for me, the mom whose doc said they’d be a good idea), and some no-sugar-added fudgsicles (just for fun). These items will supplement our already-stocked fridge and shelves. We’ve got loads of fruit, bunches of veggies, lean ground turkey meat, low-fat cottage cheese and string cheese, some whole grain crackers, and gosh, so much more. Definitely a stash of healthy grub.

But.

But over time, a good bit of sugary, sticky, sweet-y stuff has infiltrated our space (thank you, holidays!), and I fear an overload. That’s why I’ve decided we’re starting fresh in this house.

Today.

On a date marked by all ones.

1/11/11.

Now, I’m not saying we won’t indulge some here and there (see fudgsicles above), but mostly, we’re getting back on track. Just like we did four years ago, when a major pantry purge resulted in nutritious menus, well-fed bodies, even some lost weight for the parents.

Square one.

Because fresh starts rock.

4 Responses to “1/11/11”

  1. Andrea January 11, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

    I love it! I’ve been trying to do the same around here. I don’t buy chips anymore. And I love to have my fruit cellar stocked with peaches, pears, and applesauce(along with other things.) that I canned in the summer. YUMMY!!! This is a great idea for a blog! Can’t wait to see more posts.

    • projectsquareone January 11, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

      Thanks, Andrea! Can’t wait to start following your new blog, too!

  2. onehappycloset January 14, 2011 at 8:27 am #

    Geez…this post struck home with us! The time to purge begins now and it isn’t easy to throw away sweets, so I did sneak a few mouthfuls before they hit the trash 🙂 Produce is always so iffy up north this time of year, but I guess a mushy apple is better than a Snickers bar for a quick snack!

  3. Christine January 16, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    We’re all about fresh starts this year too! Home made almost everything and movement. I’ve had more than my share of injuries lately, so it’s time to make some changes in the physical department. Here’s to fresh starts!

Leave a Reply

