Headed for a Half Marathon

21 Nov

I ran a half marathon.

Once.

I have no desire to run one again.

No major complaints or anything, I just didn’t love it enough for a repeat performance.

That doesn’t mean I won’t pound the pavement again for 13.1 miles, though, because, just yesterday, my 10-year-old kid told me he’d run a half if I do it with him. That’s all it took — a little force motivation from Joey, and I’m on board. So on board, actually, we’ve already invested in new running shoes, peeked at a training schedule, and logged our first 2 miles together (well, not together, actually, more like me way behind him).

Joey and I shook on our deal to run for hours this winter in what will probably be freezing cold temperatures. We decided we’ll conquer through thick and thin. We’re in it for the long haul, and on February 19, 2012, we will cross the finish line, collect our medals, and I’ll probably declare for the second time that I won’t ever run another half marathon.

Unless, of course, some spunky kid challenges me again.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

